Island on Wheels

theserendipitistscarolinian

SURFACE-PC - WIN_20160109_083613

This began as a humble base cabinet.  My hubster added 4 heavy duty casters because it was to be used as a baking island.

I hate sanding, and before I get yelled at, I hate sanding.  I cheated and went to Home Depot and got a product that was for furniture and was told you did not need to sand at all, it would adhere to the finish and I could then paint it, stain it and wax it.  So that is what I did.  I put several coats on the cabinet and let it dry COMPLETELY in between coats.  I then used Valspar chalky Finish paint.

from Lowes, the stain and wax to give the finished product some durability.  It now sits on my lanai as storage unit and a serving surface. The process was very easy and not too time consuming, the waiting for the coats of…

View original post 142 more words

Leave a Reply

